Salesforce connector improvement - warn on connection that would result in instance URL change
Which connector?:
Salesforce
Additional details:
I recently experienced a concern while using Fivetran to sync data from Salesforce. We have multiple Salesforce instances, and due a global Salesforce outage, all 3 instances disconnected in Fivetran and began to fail due to incorrect refresh token, requiring human-interactive reauthentication.
I signed in to the first instance and got it working, but then I forgot to sign out / close my private window before signing in to the next instance. At that point, my Instance #2 was signed in to the API-only user intended to sync Instance #1, which changed the instance URL of the connection and resulted in data in instance #2's landing schema that should **not** have been there. Because of overlap in the object names, there were some tables (example: USER) that contained data from both the older correct instance and the new incorrect instance.
I strongly suggest that Fivetran implement another step in the connection edit flow at this point, including warning colors or large text, that warns that the instance URL of my connection will change if I use the current account / session. If changing the instance URL is intended, the user can proceed, if not can cancel the change.
Please sign in to leave a comment.
Comments
0 comments